Pride and Prejudice + Zombies the film

So, a few weeks ago, I watched Pride and Prejudice + Zombies for the first time. I was on Netflix one day, and I just happened to stumble across it. So, thinking of this class because I know we will be discussing the book soon, I decided to watch it, and I have to say, I was not disappointed. When I clicked start, I thought this was going to be a boring movie. However, was I ever wrong! I enjoyed the movie so much that at some point, I plan to go back and watch it again. My favorite part of the film would have to be the interactions between Darcy and Elizabeth. I am not a romantic person, and am satisfied with watching one romance movie, or reading a romance novel, a year. However, I enjoyed Darcy and Elizabeth’s relationship, and the build up to it. Plus, it was not a super cheesy romance either that you see in a lot of other work.

One of my favorite scenes would have to be after Darcy proposed to her the first time, but she said no. A little later on, when Jane and Elizabeth head off to rescue their sister, she is reunited with Darcy, and together, fight off the zombies that are emerging from the ground. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I was super happy when they were reunited.

However, one of the scenes that pulled at my heartstrings was when Darcy and Elizabeth galloped their horse across the exploding bridge, escaping the zombies. When the debris somewhat clears, Elizabeth finds Darcy’s body, and at that moment, I did not know if he was alive or not, especially with the camera zooming out from from them. I was devastated! If Darcy died, I would hate the movie for the rest of my life. However, once Darcy enters the room and proposes to Elizabeth again, I was so happy, I was practically bouncing up and down in my seat.

Overall, I really enjoyed this film, and if you have not seen it yet, I highly recommend that you do.

5 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice + Zombies the film

  1. This one is on my list to watch this weekend! I love the “real” Pride and Prejudice, so I have been apprehensive to watch and read the zombie movie and book…but after reading your post I am intrigued…

    Like

Leave a comment